Advancing a Page in Workflow

Modified on Mon, 31 Jan 2022 at 10:56 AM

The last step in authoring is to advance the page. In an institution where pages are sent for approval, advancing the page might mean sending it to a web editor. In a situation where the author has permission to publish, advancing the page may mean publishing the page. In either case, advancing the page sends it to the next workstate and to a user or group associated with that workstate.


Workflows must be configured by the web site administrator and pages added to workflow (manually or through page creation rules) before a page can be advanced.


By default, the Advance in Workflow button appears between the Assign To and Spellcheck buttons on the toolbar. The Advance in Workflow button options change to reflect the available transitions at that point in the page's work cycle.


For example, if the page must now go to an editor for approval, the advance button might include "Send to Publisher." When the Publisher gets the page, the Advance button might include "Publish to Website" and "Send Back to Author."


To Advance a Page:

  1. Click the arrow next to the Advance in Workflow button.

  2. Select the desired option. The Advance Page in Workflow dialog appears.

  3. Confirm that the appropriate transition is selected.

  4. Click Advance.

  5. Select the User that you wish to assign the page to (in some cases, it may be yourself), and click "OK".

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons

Feedback sent

We apprciate your effort and will try to fix the article